Follow

Personal rights according to GDPR

Reason for data processing

First and foremost, you need a good reason for processing personal data. This should be a legal text explaining why you process customers' personal data.

In Lime Go, you can describe your legal reason under settings -> Person -> Consent. On the same settings page you can specify a Data Protection Officer (DPO), which is an employee in your company to whom customers can turn with questions regarding their personal data.

In order to send newsletters to your customers, you need explicit consent.

 

Right of access

The user needs to make the customers personal data available for him or her upon request.

In Lime Go, you can search for a customer and click the "Share information"-button in the top right menu on the person card. What this does is to generate a temporary link to a webpage containing personal data about the customer saved in Lime Go. You can then send this link to the customer to give them access to their information.

The temporary page will also include the reason you've specified for processing personal data and contact information to your DPO.

The link and page are temporary and will expire after 24h for security and privacy reasons.

 

Right of data portability

The customer should be able to request a copy of their personal data stored by the user.

On the temporary webpage mentioned above, there is a "download" button which will download the personal data as a csv file.

 

Right to have information corrected

The customer should be able to request to correct their data.

If the customer looks at the aforementioned page and notices for example that their phone number is incorrect. They may ask your DPO to correct their phone number.

In Lime Go, the user will simply be able to search for the person, press "edit" and correct the phone number.

 

Right to restrict or object to processing

In Lime Go, there are two check boxes on the person card, one that indicates whether it is OK to process this customers personal data and the other indicating if the customer wants to receive newsletters.

Checking these boxes will change the icon colors to green and the icon for data processing will be visible in most places you work with the customer.

What do the different icons mean?

 Lime Go does not know if it OK to send newsletters to this customer.

 This customer wants to receive newsletters.

 Lime Go does not know if it is OK to process this customer.

 The customer is OK for processing.

No icon You have not done anything with this customer. The information you are seeing comes from Lime Go and you don't have to worry about it :)

 

Right to be forgotten

The customer has the right to have their data removed from the users’ records.

The "right to be forgotten" has attracted a lot of attention, but is often poorly understood. In essence, it states that customer have the right to require the user that holds their personal data to delete those data where the retention of those data is not compliant with the requirements of the GDPR. In most cases, if an organization has a lawful basis for processing personal data, it will not be significantly affected by the right to be forgotten.

For instance, if your organization has a financial transaction with a customer. You are required, according to financial law to retain a record of that transaction. This customer cannot request to delete that data.

Another example, if a person called Billy Bob wants you to delete them. It is still OK for you to search and find them on Google or LinkedIn. The information on Google is not yours.

In Lime Go, you can simply press the "Anonymize"-button on the person card to remove all personal information about that customer that you have stored in your private database. The customer will then be anonymized, along with all of the references to the customer in history notes, todos and deals.

However if you then type the person’s name in the search box at the top. There is a good chance that he or she will show up in the search results. Why is that you ask?

When you are searching in Lime Go, you are actually searching in both your private database and the Lime Go Bisnode database. Lime Go might still have the person you just deleted, however all of the information you and your colleagues have added to this customer will be gone of course.

In order to protect your data, the "Anonymize"-button is only available for Administrators. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.